Skip to content

Choices, Responsibility And Blame

April 15, 2016

I have been hearing a lot in the news lately about people who bemoan their past and feel that they need to blame someone or something for their troubles. In a word: ….PLEASE!

We all have a past and we all made choices there. Some were good and some were bad. I have yet to meet the person who has never made a bad choice in life. I certainly have made my share. Most of us take responsibility for our choices. If they were good, we pat ourselves on the back a bit. If they were bad, we chalk it up to life and blame no one but ourselves. We move on. Yet today, we hear too many people whining about their past. With a total lack of responsibility acceptance, they merrily blame people or circumstances that were around them at the time of their decisions.

In this season of the professional politician, I hear a lot of blame gaming. It is always the other guy’s fault even if it was your choice that brought the problem to your door. Responsibility is not in the politician’s lexicon. But of course politicians aren’t even human so I’ll look for a better example.

Just this week, I watched a sobbing little yuppie on television as she blamed the university system for the stress she encountered in college. It seems that the poor little wretch is now suffering from PTSD and would like a little remuneration from her state’s university system. Say what? Nobody forced this child to go to college; she made an active choice in her life and should take responsibility for it. I’m sorry it didn’t work out for her. Blaming the university system for PTSD? That is just patently ridiculous. Maybe she should turn on the TV and check out one of those universities that will mail you a degree for doing little to no work at all. I’m sure it’s less stressful.

But wait just a minute! Maybe she is on to something after all. I just had an epiphany. I figure I may well have PTSD as well because I was cracking Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales in college while my contemporaries were puffing on fatties down on Sunset Strip. Geoffrey Chaucer deprived me of my fair share of marijuana back in the day. Maybe I should sue the old boy. No, he’s dead and couldn’t pay up. Maybe I’ll go after the state of California? There has to be someone who is responsible for my decisions besides me.

Choices remain, responsibility is a thing of the past and blame won’t buy you a seat at life’s table. Those are the facts Jack! What do you think?

Please follow this blog by clicking  follow below. Your comments are always welcome.

Read author Allen E. Rizzi’s latest books available at Amazon.com

Books JPG

4 Comments
  1. Tiziana permalink

    Well said Allen! I totally agree.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nello Zuech permalink

    Allan,
    Enjoy your blogs. I have read your book In the Shadow of St. Stephan, about the cemetery in Cloz. Turns out two of the headstones you refer to are those of my great grandparents on both my Mother’s and Father’s side – Franch and Zuech. In fact the Zuech one references my Great-Great grandparents. Apparently both stones are still somewhat in decent shape. Out of curiosity, what would it cost to refurbish the headstones? and is there a service in the Val di Non that does this? I do not have any plans to visit Cloz myself to look into this myself.
    Nello Zuech

    Like

    • Hi Nello,

      The cost of headstone refurbishing varies quite a bit. The stone itself can not usually be repaired. Many in the Cloz cemetery had crosses on top of them that have broken off. These can not be replaced.

      The stones can be cleaned and re-lettered. This usually costs $300 and up when done locally through Adolfo Menghini and his son in Brez. They did my grandfather’s and it came out very well. I also do the same work in Tret and Cloz. I usually charge $100 to $150 depending on how much lettering is involved.

      Like

Leave a Reply

