Skip to content

Restoring Grave Markers

February 16, 2023

Over the past many years here in the Val di Non of Northern Italy I have picked-up a most unusual trade: I restore old grave markers.

Grave markers or lapidi as they are known in Italian are often much different than those found in my native United States. They are  always true monuments and are never just headstones. Some are fancy, some are plain but they almost always have a photograph or other likeness of the deceased.

My interest in this type of work began when we first visited Italy in 1997. I found my grandfather’s lapide in poor repair. My aunt’s was in even worse condition. My grandfather’s just needed cleaning and the words re-lettered. That was simple enough and I had a local man skilled in this trade do the work. My aunt’s was another story. Originally her grave stone had a large photograph covered by a glass dome. That dome was shattered by a bullet during World War I, leaving a void where the photo once was.

I made some careful measurements and supplied the local grave stone maker with a photograph from her first communion. She had died at age 14. Everything was sent away to Bologna to have a large circular ceramic photo tile made. The process was lengthy and expensive. However, here is a photo of the finished product.  During the process of having these two family headstones restored, I learned a lot about what went into this type of work. I was convinced I could do this same work but at a fraction of the coast. Time has proven me right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first attempt was to restore the monument to the caduti (fallen soldiers) in our home village of Tret. When I asked about the last time this monument had been cleaned, everyone concurred it was in the 1950’s. I tried to enlist several locals to learn how to clean marble. I finally found three young guys who helped me clean Jesus. I then spent the next three months painstakingly cleaning the marble and repainting by hand all of the names on the monument. The final result was a cemetery monument that will last another 50 to 60 years.

My next project was a prayer chapel in the neighboring German speaking village. When the owner checked around in his own village, it seemed that no one knew how to paint in Gothic German. Tah-day – An American to the rescue. I was pleased with the result as one can drive by and read the short prayer without stopping the car and getting out.

StAntonCappella2

Now I do restorations for families throughout the valley. In the village of Cloz, I have done several. Here is example of before and after photos for a work that I did restoring the Zuech family grave marker.

Here is a recent project completed for the Fellin family of Revo with before and after photos:

IMG_0774JUN17

IMG_0914JUL11

While my wife often assists me, she constantly complains about being in grave yards. It simply is not her thing. Me, on the other hand – I rather enjoy the quiet! If you have a grave stone that needs some attention, let me know if I can be of help. My rates are reasonable and I do excellent work.

Please follow this blog by clicking follow below. Your comments are always welcome.

Read author Allen E. Rizzi’s latest books available at Amazon.com

Read author Allen E Rizzi 3

From → Genealogy, History, Italy

5 Comments
  1. That’s an interesting hobby/side job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent workmanship, Allen.

    Like

  3. Cemeteries here in the USA can be excellent bird watching places as well. Restoring old, neglected markers and monuments strikes me as an excellent way to spend time there as well. You may start a process where they spot your efforts and think, “I could do that for Momma’s/ Uncle Federico’s/ the baby’s/ etc. stone, too!” Wouldn’t that be something? The effort clearly is worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KAREN Wilmot ZUECH permalink

    You do excellent work

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.