Skip to content

Make It On My Own

June 28, 2024

Guys, we’ve all been there! Most of us have experienced in our younger years the teeter-totter between younger girls and older women. This song was written long ago in 1978 when the colliding worlds of younger and older love were upon me. Here are the lyrics and back scene from my book Three A.M. – The Complete 1970s Song Lyrics.

Make It On My Own
© 1978 Allen E. Rizzi

V1 Younger girls always seem so confused;
The older ones I know say, “What’s the use?”
Me, I’m in the middle,
And I’m dying just a little,
Because I know, yes I know,
I think I know….

Ch. I’m going to make it on my own;
Can’t keep loving from two extremes.
I’m going to make it on my own;
Trying myself, hard as it seems.

V2 Younger girls are afraid to trust the dawn;
Older women look backwards, then move on.
I’m left in the middle,
And I’m dying just a little,
Because I know, yes I know,
I think I know….

Ch. I’m going to make it on my own;
Can’t keep loving from two extremes.
I’m going to make it on my own;
Trying myself, hard as it seems.

V3 Younger girls, I wish you lots of luck;
You older ones, please don’t pass me the buck.
I’ve wasted time between you two,
It’s up to me, not up to you;
And I know, yes I know,
I think I know….

Ch. I’m going to make it on my own;
Can’t keep loving from two extremes.
I’m going to make it on my own;
Trying myself, hard as it seems.

Coda I’m going to make it on my own;
Can’t keep loving from two extremes.
I’m going to make it on my own;
Trying myself, hard as it seems.

Back Scene 2011:

This song was all about me, perhaps the only true autobiographical piece that I ever wrote. After dating women that were both too young and too old, I wrote this song out of parodied frustration late one evening in the fall of 1978. I could name names here but what’s the use. Some three decades later, names are not important.

The lyrics were clever (for the time) but I particularly like the fall-away effect provided at the end of each verse: And I know, yes I know…. I think I know. This provided just enough doubt to double back and try again.

This song never saw commercial success but it was played locally in the San Fernando Valley and recorded by me under the Italia Productions label. AER 2011

Here is the original demo recording from over 40 years ago:

strong>Please follow this blog by clicking  follow below. Your comments are always welcome.

Read author Allen E. Rizzi’s latest books available at Amazon.com

Read author Allen E Rizzi 3

4 Comments
  1. Great lyrics, Allen. To me, “I think I know” shows wise inspection of one’s thoughts.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.