Skip to content

Waiting For The Dawn

January 22, 2016

Many years ago I was a successful songwriter in busy Southern California. I was also young and impetuous, often penning song lyrics drawn from personal battles in love where I saw both victory and defeat. I call the former my happy songs and the latter my sad songs.

The 1970s were full of both so I was very successful dealing from both the top and bottom of the emotional deck. My writing often occupied the wee hours of the morning when I had both the time and the right frame of mind to compose. One song from the bottom of the deck was “Waiting For The Dawn.” It was, as the lyrics indicate, written at two in the morning during a time in my life that often saw me scribbling away at odd hours. It turned out to be commercially viable for me in the end. I still love the song and I still play it today.

I have included here the original six string guitar pre-demo version of the song. The back scene that I wrote for the song in my book, “Three A.M. – The Complete 1970s Song Lyrics” is as follows:

Dian’s Song (Waiting For The Dawn)
© 1978 Allen E. Rizzi

V1: It’s two in the morning girl, and I miss you;
I spent the whole night crying on the lawn….
Yes, my head’s been going round in circles….
I’m just waiting for the dawn….
Waiting for the dawn…. Waiting for the dawn.

V2: I just can’t get it straight inside my head;
These empty walls, they’re just looking on….
Yes, my head’s been going round in circles….
I’m just waiting for the dawn….
Waiting for the dawn…. Waiting for the dawn.

Brdg: I won’t pretend tomorrow will bring you back,
But I have to know the sun’s alive;
You’ve been weighing heavy on my mind,
I wish I had a place to hide….

V3: But, it’s two in the morning girl, and I miss you;
And yes I know the feeling’s gone….
And yes, my head’s been going round in circles….
I’m just waiting for the dawn….
Waiting for the dawn…. Waiting for the dawn.

Coda: Waiting for the dawn…. Waiting for the dawn….

Instr: (to abrupt stop)

Back Scene 2011:

The original title for this song was Dian’s Song as it was written for yet another girlfriend after our untimely breakup. In 1979 while I was working as a songwriter in Hollywood, California, I released an album of my own material. The title of the album was supposed to be Waiting For The Dawn. However, my producer wanted the title to reflect the lead single on the album; hence, the album was released as Loving Your Tears Away. This song was still placed on the album at my insistence. It appeared on the only album that I ever recorded and released. In 2011, I asked the music jobber at Walmart if she had ever heard of the album. She just laughed. Waiting For The Dawn was however a success back in the late 1970s; it was recorded by two other artists.

Oh, and Dian’s last name? I can’t remember.

AER 7-18-2011

 

Having bared a bit of my soul, the question is obvious. Have you ever waited for the dawn?

Please follow this blog by clicking  follow below. Your comments are always welcome.

Read author Allen E. Rizzi’s latest books available at Amazon.com

Books JPG

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

