Skip to content

I Remember When

November 27, 2015

Being a semi-geezer, I often notice the juxtapositions in my life perhaps a little more than my younger friends. In true geezer form, I hear myself more and more starting sentences with, “I remember when….”

Well, actually I do remember when a lot of things were around that have disappeared over the years or are completely different now from what I remember. Therefore, I put before you what I choose to call the dirty dozen of what I remember when:

1. I remember when milk was delivered to your door and was ordered by inserting a rotary tab device into an empty bottle to indicate what you wanted on the next delivery. Simple and effective and no app was required.

2. I remember when gas was 19 cents a gallon. When it got up to 25 cents, I was sure I was going to go broke. Now that 25 cents wouldn’t even cover half the various taxes that have been infused on a single gallon over the years.

3. I remember when the Helms Bakery truck would go up and down the block with a little whistle that is used on ships. They had large wooden trays with everything from fresh bread to donuts. You had only to walk to the curb. But of course, they didn’t offer gluten-free yuppie baked goods in hundreds of varieties.

4. I remember when I got bounced from high school for wearing just a white polo tee-shirt. It was not considered proper dress attire for school. Later as an English teacher, I was required to wear a white Oxford cloth shirt and a black tie. I went from looking like one of the Dead End Kids to H. R. Haldeman.

5. I remember when I could walk into a market or liquor store with a loaded .38 Smith and Wesson strapped to my side after target shooting without anyone feeling threatened. It was normal to do so in rural Southern California. I just bought my soda pop and went on my way without being tasered.

6. I remember when our family doctor regularly made house calls to our home. I think there may have been a small extra charge for calls after midnight but our doctor saved the lives of both my parents by coming to the house. Try that one out with Obama Care!

7. I remember when it was required that all students in Southern California learned to speak, write, listen in English. We had classes in Spanish, French, German, etc. if a student wanted to learn another language. We also had ESL (English as a Second Language) for those whose native tongue was something other than English. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe the voting ballot in California is now offered in 38 languages in order to be super politically correct.

8. I remember when I attended school with blacks, Hispanics and ethnicities of every type without any rancor among us whatsoever. Nobody seemed to care much if you were Jewish, Italian, black or had a name only you could pronounce. We all played and worked together just fine until the politicians decided we shouldn’t.

9. I remember when we went to the movies as very small children. We walked unsupervised about a half a mile to the theater, unafraid of would-be perverts, murderers, terrorists and the bogeyman. We spent our 35 cents allowance (not entitlement) to buy a ticket (25 cents) and some candy (10 cents). The bonus was that we often stayed the whole day and watched a double feature (what’s that?) three times…. and there were no cell phones to spoil the movie!

10. I remember when American fitness was a national priority under President Kennedy. After all, we had to at least be as tough as the Commies. Students in elementary school were required to exercise rigorously. Yesterday, I saw a fat mother pick-up her fat child from the school bus stop and drive the poor creature 50 yards to their house. The only exercise this rotund teenager managed was to thumb away at her cell phone while waiting for mommy.

11. I remember when I got my first legal job at 15 1/2. I worked a lot before this age, but it wasn’t considered legal as I didn’t have the required work permit. I was thrilled to receive the $1.25 an hour wage and I worked my ass off for it. I don’t remember anyone protesting to have their entry-level wage doubled. After all, there were dozens of kids who wanted my job and they would have been glad to take it from me.

12. I remember when my grandmother was dying from heart failure. She stayed in our home and I was responsible for much of her care at age eight. I would administer oxygen when she rang a small handheld bell. Everyone took care of their family in their homes; hospitals were reserved for the very end. These days, most couples shove their parents and grandparents into seedy nursing homes and rarely visit them, hoping perhaps that they will just go away. (They do go away eventually.)

Those are some of my memories. What are yours?

The photo is of the Rizzi family in 1958.

Please follow this blog by clicking follow below. Your comments are always welcome.

Read author Allen E. Rizzi’s latest books available at Amazon.com

Books JPG

2 Comments
  1. Carol Haymaker permalink

    3. I remember the Helms Bakery Truck too. The guy that drove it was the father of the girl that bullied me in middle school. I really wanted to tell him about that but I was sure that she would follow through with the threats that she made if I did. My mother had an open credit card with the Helms Bakery guy and he came by at least 4 times a week to our house. My little brother decided to treat everyone on the block as well as himself and when my Mom got the bill, she was shocked!
    She found many pink donut boxes under my brothers bed. End of open credit. The bullying daughter got kicked out of school for fighting and I never saw her again.

    Like

  2. Thanks for commenting. The Helms Bakery truck is one of my sweetest memories from San Fernando. Those were good, uncomplicated times that were so different from today. I can still see the Helms Bakery guy’s face. I didn’t know he had a daughter and a bully no less. Glad you hung in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

