Skip to content

Spam

July 24, 2015

Spam is a brand of canned precooked meat products made by Hormel Foods Corporation. It was first introduced in 1937 and became popular worldwide after its use during World War II by Allied Troops. In 2007, the s!even billionth can of Spam was sold. The thing to remember is that Spam was widely distributed.

Electronic spam is defined as the use of electronic messaging systems to send unsolicited messages (spam), especially advertising, as well as sending messages repeatedly on the same site. While the most widely recognized form of spam is e-mail spam, the term is applied to similar abuses in other media. I find both forms of Spam disgusting, both for its taste and inconvenience to my daily computer work.

I remember well having to eat fried Spam when my parents were struggling financially in the 1950s. I have tried it since and I have the same gag reaction. It is definitely not the food of kings. As for electronic spam, I tire of it on a daily basis. I always ask the same question: Why can’t I send a nasty message to these pukes to irritate them as much as they have irritated me. Unfortunately, that’s not the way spam works;it’s kind of a one-way dis and there’s not really much to do in the form of retaliation. Too bad!

I dutifully block reoccurring spam addresses and that does help a bit. But most of the time, I just wish I could punch somebody! If I really wanted a penis enlarger, I would go on line, I suppose, and purchase one. I don’t know anyone named Adrianna and I don’t care about her measurements. I buy my ink cartridges locally and don’t care to have them offered to me from the third world. I’ve never met Dr. Oz and I simply don’t give a damn what he’s peddling this week. I also don’t consider myself a “dear friend” of anyone who I never met in my entire life. In short, leave me the hell alone! Many people worldwide believe they can operate with total anonymity on the internet without consequences. They hide behind free speech advocates, foreign governments and a ludicrous assortment of “legitimate advertisers.” The internet does not grant license to steal, deceive, annoy, and commit fraud. Apparently, many entities, along with Russia and North Korea, don’t understand this. I wonder out loud how they would feel if I filled-up their inbox with crap…. happy?

A little post script. I sent out notices a couple of years ago to all of my email contacts, advising them of the publication of one of my new books. I received one response asking me to remove their name from my book mailing list. I did so immediately, within 30 seconds. It really didn’t require any super-human effort, just a little common courtesy.

What are you feelings about spam, in either the canned or crammed variety?

Read author Allen E. Rizzi’s latest books available at Amazon.com Books JPG:

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

