Skip to content

What’s In A Number?

December 5, 2014

So another year sneaked by and I barely noticed. That’s what happens when you become a mature adult. Great euphemism; it sounds like we’re taking about over ripe fruit hanging on a tree here. No, just another person heading down life’s scenic senior highway.

Anyway, when the big day rolled around, six people managed to remember: my wife, my brother, a couple of good friends and a cousin in Italy. The latter sent me an email with this image of Route 66 (the number of my years) and a short note that said, “Ciao Allen, tanti auguri da tutti noi, spero che tu stia bene con la schiena. Un forte abbraccio.” (best wishes from all of us, I hope your back is doing well, a strong hug.) The back reference was aimed at the spinal surgery I had two weeks prior. I dashed off a thank you note but reminded him that 66 is indeed better than the number upside down (99).

Then I thought about that number 66 and how it has played out in my life. When I was half that number, 33, I began my current life with my second wife. It has been truly wonderful in every respect. My only regret is simply that I had to spend half my life (literally) to find her. However, what we have lacked in quantity, we have more than made up for in quality. That’s the beauty about numbers that few understand.

I’ve already covered the 66 upside down. I should live that long! It would be another equal third of my current life. That’s an interesting notion in itself…. but the Beatles lyric about “creeping like a nun” keeps hammering at me. I don’t know about that….

When 66 is divided by 10, it brings me back to when I was a child fishing on Northern California’s Owens River with my father at my side. The air was crisp and full of the anticipation of learning. That was a long time ago but I still employ the skills I learned then on a daily basis. When 66 is divided by 8, it puts me in Cub Scouts and elementary school. These too were formative years when my value system became pretty concrete. When 66 is divided by 4, I had been driving a car for awhile and I was constantly on the road toward some far away beach to surf. These were years of basking in the glow of a lingering adolescence before moving into life’s full current. When 66 is divided by 3, I was already married, already had a son and I was struggling to reinvent my life. I was successful at that endeavor and I emerged the person that I am today at half of 66.

Numbers. What’s in a number anyway? Nothing…. everything!

Read author Allen E. Rizzi’s latest books available at Amazon.com

Books JPG

2 Comments
  1. Interesting way to look at one’s life mathematically…I may try it. Hmmm, at half my life, I began the best part with a second marriage. I may play with some more numbers.

    Like

  2. Anche Io….la vita è numeri, vero?

    Like

Leave a Reply

