Skip to content

Song Of Life

October 24, 2014

I am a person who often thinks and speaks in borrowed song lyrics. I often quote song lyrics to make a more colorful or a more forceful point. No doubt, being a songwriter probably has something to do this. It’s in the genes!

All of my life, I have used songs and their lyrics to speak for me when I simply could find no better words. A lot of stuff from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s figures into my repertoire along with lines from Mozart and Puccini. “You ain’t seen nothing yet” is a favorite of mine when someone doubts my steadfastness or ability to get something done. I have sung the “Queen of the Night” aria from Mozart’s “The Magic Flute” to my wife in an effort to make not so subtile points. When I am dead tired, I often mumble, “It’s getting dark, too dark to see….” The meter and rhyme found in music are often identical to our moods and therefore I use both liberally with lyrics to make my points throughout the day.

The only problem is, it seems, is that not everyone shares my enthusiasm for song. This often leaves awkward situations where I may sound a bit like Renfield speaking to himself in a cobwebbed corner. At times I have to remind the people I’m speaking to that I am not babbling to myself but rather I am just applying a little metaphor, a little lyric in an effort to be more graphic. I must say it does help if the people to whom I’m speaking to had their radios on at least once in a while during their youth. Then they too would understand when I say (sing), “I fooled around and fell in love” or “vissi d’amore” when speaking of my wife. It’s the song of life that keeps me going every single day.

I would like to thank all of the songwriters who came before me: “Here’s to you Mrs. Robinson!” “Here’s to the ladies….” And yes, “God Bless America.” Lastly, Vielen Dank Herr Mozart! Together, these and many more are collectively the song of life and the roots of much of my vocabulary.

So, if “you know the way to San Jose,” you’d better get going. We are all “knock, knock, knocking on heaven’s door.” When all of the music fades, there remains one last lyric: “silence is golden….” Enjoy the music in between! Enjoy the song of life!

By the way, the guitar chord illustrated above is A-minor. It is one of those neat little musical renderings that contains sad notes but ultimately inspires us to seek the happy ones.

Read author Allen E. Rizzi’s latest books available at Amazon.com

Books JPG

From → Italy, Music, Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

