Skip to content

Tales from the Tirol – Part 6 of 6

June 20, 2014

This is the last installment, 6 of 6, of Tales from the Tirol.

If you have heard the term horse whisperer, chances are that you saw the 1998 Robert Redford film. However, there was a time when there were real horse whisperers and they were certainly a breed apart from most of us today. Their ghosts still linger in our modern world. Fact and fiction are often siblings of the same parents.

While living in Italy, I spent a great deal of time exploring my father’s side of the family in an effort to learn all I could about our family’s Tirolean roots. I learned the local languages, learned how to prepare local meals and generally immersed myself in a rich Tirolean heritage for over 12 years. I even researched and compiled a complete genealogy of the Rizzi family back to the year 1145. I came away from the whole experience richly endowed with knowledge and appreciation for my father’s family. They were pioneers who left their native Austria to build their American dreams.

There is of course another side to my family, that of my mother. It is steeped in Americanism with her earliest American ancestor arriving on the ship Mary and John in 1630 to help settle a newly formed Plymouth, Massachusetts. They were pioneers of a different sort. They, unlike my father’s ancestors, came to an unknown and unsettled country without the benefit of first hand advice from friends or family.

Because I am the repository for everything of both my mother’s and father’s families, I have in my possession a great many old photos, artifacts and stories. Being a writer, I feel a responsibility to preserve such things and have done so through my writing for many years. Several years ago, I wrote a biography for my great uncle, James E. Allen. He was a well known artist and illustrator in his day and is still very much respected for his craft. In delving into the source material in my possession, I found clues that he had a history as a horse whisperer that I knew very little about. I prodded, I poked and reviewed all that I knew about both men. The story was there right in front of me. I just hadn’t pulled the pieces together throughout the years.

Yes, I had known my whole life that my grandfather Lee Allen was a horse whisperer his entire  life. I had seen him in action when I was a child and I learned much from this man..  While I had suspected that his brother Edd shared his gift as well, I only recently discovered the entire truth. Brothers Lee and Edd Allen were both horse whisperers with extraordinary talents. I found myself tracing their every step in an effort to write The Horse Whisperers from Anaconda. Both were born in Louisiana, Missouri and raised in rural Anaconda, Montana where their gifts in training horses were first recognized. Writing the novella proved to be a love of labor and research, both of which tire and inspire  me often and completely. I truly love this book and hope you will like it as well.

Of both the Rizzis of Tirol and the horse whisperers from Anaconda, I can say that I have learned from each the art of urging all things gently into one’s will without force but with certainty. That, in the end, is a writer’s task.

Image

This book is available on Amazon.com as an e-book for only $3.99. The print version will be available internationally in the fall of 2014. You can reach me anytime at www.allenrizzi.weebly.com where you can also find a complete book listing and other information.

I hope you have enjoyed this series of blog postings titled Tales from the Tirol and an introduction to six of my books. More is on the way!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

